What to wear to a Sunday afternoon wedding?

by Heidi
The wedding was called for 4pm.  The weather’s been cool and now warm again.  The couple are quite eclectic and the affair was sure to reflect their unique style as well as showcase their mixed heritages and cultures.  The dilemma—what to wear?

A DON’T would have been to go to evening-y.  Whereas the reception was certainly going to advance into the evening, it just felt inappropriate to go with a cocktail dress.

Another DON’T would have been to go with a “day dress.” I thought the occasion was too important to warrant a daytime dress.

The DO that I went with was to strike an elegant, ladylike look with a hint of festivity.  Here’s what I opted for.  I donned a grey-ish/blush-ish pleated metallic skirt.  I paired it with a cashmere sweater that matched the inner silk pleats of the skirt.  Adorned with pearls, diamond earrings and rings, I kept the jewelry subtle and tasteful.  Heels matched the ensemble and I added a metallic Nancy Gonzalez handbag which was a few shades darker than the skirt.

The wedding was lovely.  Food was just so so.  Our hosts were most gracious and music and dance rounded out the evening.  Take a look below and see if you think I achieved my DO.

One thought on “What to wear to a Sunday afternoon wedding?

Leave a Reply

