Wanderlust

by Heidi

Wanderlust is defined by an impulse to move around aimlessly and without a fixed course or goal.  Wanderlust should be my middle name!

I’m not a planner.  And I’ve been most fortunate over the last ten years or so to be able to just pick up and go!  Expense and homeland security has all but rendered that nearly impossible but I look back fondly on the memories I have from being truly free and able to move about the world with nary a care.

When I lived in London often I’d go to the airport on Friday afternoon and see what the next flight would be to a European city I had a hankering to go to for the weekend.  Paris, Rome, Lisbon, Majorca, Barcelona, Prague, Geneva, Chamonix, the Italian Dolomites  and Mageve to ski–you name it, I did it.

I’ve galavanted around Africa several times with a “if it’s Tuesday, it must be Belgium” kind of attitude.  Boot camp training on the coast of Kenya, meeting friends in Nairobi,  safari in Botswana, Zambia and Namibia, white water rafting on the Zambezi river, exploring Soweto in Johannasburg, hiking Table Mountain and drinking wine in South Africa, climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania and running off for a “dirty weekend” in Zanzibar!

Other jaunts include hiking and biking mountains and volcanoes in Patagonia, Argentina and Chile (and watching Tango in Buenos Aires).  An illicit rendezvous in Rio, then helicoptering to an island and hiking and kayaking off the coast of Brazil; hiking and biking in India, Croatia, Northern France, Switzerland, Mexico, Canada,  New Zealand,  Israel, Sweden, Norway, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Thailand, Japan and Italy. Last year this time I was in Russia of all places!   Oh and the food, the wine, the music, the shopping and the men!!!!  And the sights, sounds, smells along the way.  All fantastic adventures!

Only wish I was headed to Vietnam and Cambodia this holiday season.  And or Australia.  China, Uruguay also on the list of places I’ve yet to get to.  Looking forward to adding them to the list—hopefully, soon!!!

Bon voyage!  Cheers…heidi

Leave a Reply

